Our Staff - National Center for Rehabilitative Auditory Research (NCRAR)
Attention A T users. To access the menus on this page please perform the following steps. 1. Please switch auto forms mode to off. 2. Hit enter to expand a main menu option (Health, Benefits, etc). 3. To enter and activate the submenu links, hit the down arrow. You will now be able to tab or arrow up or down through the submenu options to access/activate the submenu links.

National Center for Rehabilitative Auditory Research (NCRAR)


Quick Links

Veterans Crisis Line Badge
My healthevet badge
EBenefits Badge

Our Staff

The NCRAR is cultivating a community of clinicians, research scientists, and scholars who can address the communicative, economic, psychosocial, and vocational issues associated with auditory disorders. The Center is unique because of the broad range of professionals who work together with a focus on delivering rehabilitative therapeutics within the lifetime of the Veteran, with the greatest effectiveness and in a way that promotes efficiency.

Currently, more than 40 professionals are engaged in a variety of research and development activities of the NCRAR. Working alongside auditory research scientists and audiologists, it is commonplace to find such other professionals as healthcare educators, immunologists, otolaryngologists, neurologists, neuropsychologists, oncologists, and speech-language pathologists.



M. Patrick Feeney, Ph.D. Director
Dawn Konrad-Martin, Ph.D. Associate Director
Patrick Helt, M.A. Deputy Director, Administrative Officer
Marianne Pierson, M.A. Program Specialist
Steve Lathrop, MBA Budget Analyst
Bryan Shaw, B.S. Program Support Assistant

Principal Investigators

Curtis Billings, Ph.D. Electrophysiology, auditory plasticity, and aging
Naomi Bramhall, Ph.D. Electrophysiology, “hidden” hearing loss
Michelle Cameron, M.D., PT, MCR Falls, imbalance and functional mobility in multiple sclerosis
Kathleen Carlson, M.S., Ph.D. Epidemiology, Health Services research, Traumatic Brain Injury (TBI), tinnitus
M. Patrick Feeney, Ph.D. Peripheral auditory function, hearing screening, and aging 
Robert Folmer, Ph.D. Hearing conservation, tinnitus
Frederick (Erick) Gallun, Ph.D. Psychoacoustics and cognitive processing
Angela Garinis, Ph.D. Ototoxicity, physiologic measures of peripheral and central auditory processing
James Henry, Ph.D. Tinnitus
Laurie King, Ph.D., PT Traumatic brain injury, gait and balance, rehabilitation
Dawn Konrad-Martin, Ph.D. Peripheral auditory function, aging, diabetes & ototoxicity 
Michelle Molis, Ph.D. Speech perception
Melissa Papesh, Ph.D. Au.D. Clinical auditory neuroscience 
Robert Peterka, Ph.D. Balance control, sensory integration, vestibular disorders 
Gabrielle Saunders, Ph.D. Hearing aid outcomes & hearing conservation 
Sarah Theodoroff, Ph.D. Tinnitus, decreased sound tolerance disorders, psychoacoustics

 Research Staff

Serena Dann, Au.D. Research Audiologist
Melissa Frederick, Au.D. Research Audiologist
Jane Gordon, M.S. Research Audiologist
Susan Griest, M.P.H. Database Manager
Leslie Grush, Au.D. Research Audiologist
Wendy Helt, M.A. Grants Administrator, Lead Research Audiologist
Andrea Hildebrand Research Assistant
Addison Hoagland Research Assistant
Kasey Jakien, B.A. Research Assistant
Christine Kaelin, MBA Research Program Manager
Sean Kampel, Au.D. Research Audiologist
Brandon Madsen, Au.D. Research Audiologist
Candice Manning, Ph.D., Au.D. Research Audiologist
Daniel McDermott, M.A. Research Audiologist
Joseph Nadeau, B.A. Research Assistant
Tina Penman, Au.D. Research Audiologist
Daniel Putterman, Au.D. Research Audiologist
Chandra Roberts, B.A. Research Assistant
ShienPei Silverman, M.A. Research Coordinator
Brandon Smith, B.S. Research Assistant
Emily Thielman, M.S. Research Coordinator & Statistician
Jay Vachhani, Au.D. Research Audiologist
Tara Zaugg, Au.D. Research Audiologist

Engineer and Technical Support Staff

Distinguished Scholars in Residence

  • NCRAR Founder: Stephen A. Fausti, Ph.D., Hearing Conservation
  • James Jerger, Ph.D., Auditory Event-related Potentials 

Postdoctoral Fellows

  • Will Bologna, Ph.D.
  • Tess Koerner, Ph.D., Au.D.
  • Ramesh Muralimanohar, Ph.D.
  • Kelly Reavis, M.S., M.P.H.

Au.D. 4th Year Externs (2019-2020)

  • David Audet, B.S.
  • Sarah Bochat, B.A.
  • Amy Mashburn, M.S.